People Living With Disabilities Review Characters With Disabilities

Comments

  1. Perception is Reality

    Perception is RealityHour ago

    Best horror flick of 2017 portraid a disabled person (unhearing). =) Recommending "Hush" to anyone who wants a really good scary flick! More power to people in the perifery, good on ya'll for being in this buzzfeed video and giving some great input =)

  2. Bayernshinobi

    Bayernshinobi3 hours ago

    "struggle"

  3. And it's a cruel world

    And it's a cruel world6 hours ago

    you could've just said retarted

  4. Penswordking

    Penswordking7 hours ago

    Wtf. Who goes to a movie to see themselves? I go to the movies specifically to escape my life.

  5. Vanna Del Rey

    Vanna Del Rey8 hours ago

    Jamie Brewer in American Horror Story? She was one of my favorite characters in Coven

  6. Sam

    Sam13 hours ago

    I don't know if it was intentional, but I liked the paraphrase of the "hard to kill" line from the Hound in Game of Throwns.

  7. Sam

    Sam13 hours ago

    George R. R. Martin included that Tyrion had been trained to perform. He later regretted that, but in the books it was too late and he ended up using it for the plot. Peter Dinkledge refused to include that aspect of the character though. I respect him even more for it.

  8. Sam

    Sam13 hours ago

    The actor from Breaking Bad has Cerebral Palsy, but not as severe as the character. He worked with experts to exaggerate his own real symptoms in an accurate way. He did an amazing job, not just at portraying the disability, but at every aspect of his job.

  9. mia mackenzie

    mia mackenzie16 hours ago

    the movie is based off a book... the award was given to him in the book... the book's pretty good

  10. Hades

    Hades17 hours ago

    oh please i have disabilities and i dont' cry like this girls for such pety things like "he dream he could dance"...i also dream sometimes that i surf like i used too

  11. Gabe Coker

    Gabe Coker19 hours ago

    So much butthurt in one video

  12. Silent Slayer

    Silent Slayer20 hours ago

    uuuuhm!? forest gump? maybe?

  13. Michael Mullen

    Michael MullenDay ago

    Godammit I ended up on a buzzfeed video

  14. backtodafuture1987

    backtodafuture1987Day ago

    It seems like it’s hard for the people on the video to accept the fact that most able people, like it or not, do feel sorry for a lot of people with severe disabilities and the families who also live with it. Not everything can be about empowerment, equality, rainbows and sunshine. The Artie character is a great example of this.

  15. Rua Greenwood

    Rua GreenwoodDay ago

    Dwarf guys are so hot! 🔥 😍

  16. Story Cox

    Story CoxDay ago

    I did not enjoy the Wonder movie, the book was way better

  17. The-Panda Panda

    The-Panda PandaDay ago

    If you disliked wonder as a movie, you'd probably like it more as a book, because being in pov of auggie makes it 10x better. For example, in the scene where auggie gets the metal in the book he does mention that this doesn't even really mean much to him, as he sees it as an award for just being him, which mirrors the sentiment in this video.

  18. Jared DeMarzo

    Jared DeMarzoDay ago

    Buzzfeed: Always offended.

  19. CreeperBandito

    CreeperBanditoDay ago

    I personally think theyre just looking for things to complain about

  20. Heather1 A.

    Heather1 A.Day ago

    I hate seeing hearing people play deaf. The signing is terrible and there's always misconceptions.

  21. Shelby Hill

    Shelby HillDay ago

    Totally off topic but I love the girl with glasses' blush

  22. It's shrimp in a bag!

    It's shrimp in a bag!Day ago

    Matt Murdock from Daredevil, Shaun Murphy from the Good Doctor? I wish you'd do a video with people reacting to them too!! Thanks for this!

  23. James Dankenheimer

    James DankenheimerDay ago

    The biggest part of dancing is having legs. You can’t dance in a wheelchair.

  24. Cole Murphy

    Cole MurphyDay ago

    The dude with the disabled arms was the best one out of all of them

  25. Ramon Gonzalez

    Ramon GonzalezDay ago

    Tirion is no doubt my favorite character on GoT. P.S - Not gonna lie. The girl with the glasses is super cute.

  26. Erin Conyers

    Erin ConyersDay ago

    "It's lazy writing," AMEN!!!

  27. syd wachs

    syd wachsDay ago

    This is exactly why I became a writer and story coach. Because storytellers have a responsibility to create safe spaces for ALL people to explore themselves and the world without feeling excluded or judged. Because everyone should be able to see characters similar to them represented. That's the gorgeous thing about the world, right? That every single person is different and adds something wonderful and unique? xx

  28. IMaximusDMI

    IMaximusDMIDay ago

    Simon Birch.

  29. kornilios js

    kornilios js2 days ago

    You can definitely portray that in a dance sequence in a musical

  30. Leslie Willis

    Leslie Willis2 days ago

    The worst disabled character ever was Felicity on Arrow

  31. Paul W

    Paul W2 days ago

    Is Peter disabled? Shorter then average granted but he has accomplished more then most ever will! I'm six feet three inches and yes I can reach higher physically but Peter has a reach that spans the world and without wanting to seem flippant I'm sure if we were to test this out we would find a lot of things Peter is more able to do physically then I. What I'm trying (and probably failing miserably) to say is that we should stop viewing each of us on our differences and more on what each of us can bring to the table as it were!

  32. Griffin H

    Griffin H2 days ago

    It is not at all offending to show a scene about someone wanting to walk... Not every disabled person has went through the exact same experience

  33. Ino Parthenopaeus

    Ino Parthenopaeus2 days ago

    Come thruu Tyrion

  34. ChelsRen

    ChelsRen2 days ago

    Don’t act so high and mighty, some of these things were made because they’re relatable for disabled people and non-disabled people or the actor was legitimately talented or the story actually actually centered around the disability. Seriously, stop looking for ways to be unsatisfied. It’s not all mocking or pandering, don’t act like a lot of disabled people don’t struggle with being disabled.

  35. Naomi Chu

    Naomi Chu2 days ago

    6:45 I didn't feel bad for them... I was just viewing the story. Honestly they seem really biased... But I guess people would be mad if any char is played by someone that's not their race/disability/etc... I dunno... I thought Leo was good and respected the part...

  36. Jennifer Gates

    Jennifer Gates2 days ago

    As a person with a disability, I also agree that we don't have to date others who also have a disability. We can be with whomever we choose as long as the two of you can build a stable relationship. Yea Tyrion! 😁👍

  37. Jennifer Gates

    Jennifer Gates2 days ago

    I love how the director and producers made "Wonder"! Not only did you get to see Auggie's side of the story & the others involved in his life, but you also got a chance to take a look at what their motives were for choosing how to act the way they did! 😊👍

  38. Jennifer Gates

    Jennifer Gates2 days ago

    I think if they balanced Artie's desire to be like others with accepting who he is and follow it up with a dance sequence celebrating while In the wheelchair, then it could work. Also, maybe instead of dancing in the mall, he could be imagine a world of disabled people being the norm and "normal people" being treated like a disabled person is on a day to day basis.

  39. V Smith

    V Smith2 days ago

    They should have discussed American Horror Story/ freak show for their portrayal of disabilities. I was excited about Mat Frasier since he was amazing in his depth of character having phocomelia of the arms. My daughter has that diagnosis but more limitating to where she is a foot user as well to using her pseudo arms. Looks like the dude could have related to that character the most as well.

  40. Johann Webb

    Johann Webb2 days ago

    "down syndrome in real life, too"...of course she does...

  41. Eli Golden

    Eli Golden2 days ago

    I am just saying I dont care about his disabilities I care about his strength and ability to over come no matter what I was not born disabled it came later in life the disability does not define any one.

  42. Tony Marshall

    Tony Marshall2 days ago

    I like what ps eating Gilbert grape and dicario’s performance because it’s the most accurate movie to my life. My brother acted exactly like Arny and although it would have been grate if he was portrayed by someone with a mental disability I can understand why that could be unreliable for these kind of shoots. One thing I do hate about this movie is the same reason I hate rainman which is that whenever I tell someone my brothers autistic they recommend those movies to me. Or worse just go “oh.....so he’s good at math”

  43. kaylyn koone

    kaylyn koone2 days ago

    i feel like this is saying that if you have one type of disability of any type, you know the struggle of all kinds of disabilities. like. i have a disability but i think we should let people talk about their own disability experiences not just group it as all who have a disability

  44. Joe Schmo

    Joe Schmo2 days ago

    Ha retards

  45. erin

    erin2 days ago

    You should have done Raven from the 100

  46. Valentina Munoz

    Valentina Munoz2 days ago

    Also well, this is buzzfeed

  47. Valentina Munoz

    Valentina Munoz2 days ago

    What’s eating Gilbert grape is such a beautiful well done movie, I have a sister who is mentally disabled and I take no offence to Leo’s character what so ever. I truly believe Leo deserves an oscar for it, he really researched he spent time with people with disabilities, he made sure he got it right. If you’re offended by his role then you might as well me offended by Forrest Gump.

  48. Robyn Wilson

    Robyn Wilson3 days ago

    So glad they didn't bring up casting an actor with a disability for Wonder. Had they actually cast a child with Auggies condition it would risk the child's well-being, they kind of had to use make up and I HATE when people act like casting someone with a disability ALWAYS has to be the case, sometimes it's too dangerous to Do, y'know?

  49. Michal Yaari

    Michal Yaari3 days ago

    Why is someone with one type of disability talking about other types of disabilities?

  50. RJ Robertson-DeGraaff

    RJ Robertson-DeGraaff3 days ago

    I feel like they should've included "Fundamentals of caring" Good characters but the story is built around his disability.

  51. Krystal Raymond

    Krystal Raymond3 days ago

    I wish someone would analyze Bubbles from Trailer Part boys. Like I refuse to watch it, cause I feel like that is just terrible. But my husband keeps insisting the Bubbles Actor is the smartest person on the show. The actor ruined his eye sight to wear glasses and portray an individual with visions issues and its not clear if the character has other disabilities. I can't decided if it's disrespectful or trashy but inspiring. Idk what do you think?

  52. Nikki Nixon

    Nikki Nixon3 days ago

    I thought the same thing about Auggie getting the award! I thought it should have been Jack Will or someone, and it sounds awful but I feel like Auggie was supported not a supporter.

  53. kendraklopfenstein

    kendraklopfenstein3 days ago

    Where’s speechless? That’s such a good show with a disabled actor

  54. TotalNoobasaur

    TotalNoobasaur3 days ago

    6:38 There are several disabilities that indicate a dramatically shorter lifespan. I've never seen this movie and I don't know what disability the character has, but I do know that some disabilities are like that. I knew a boy once with a disability that made his brain stop developing at the age of three so he was twelve and still acted like a toddler. He wasn't supposed to live past four or five (his father told me that) I understand that as a person who is not disabled in any way except mentally (and even then it's very minor) I'm not in a great position to argue, but I know for a fact that she was spreading misconceptions about misconceptions

  55. Doka Roberts

    Doka Roberts3 days ago

    the glee clip is so out of context

  56. ImaginaryMdA

    ImaginaryMdA3 days ago

    "...but a dance sequence?" ...you do know the concept of glee right? Literally everything in glee is a dance sequence.

  57. Thaddeus J

    Thaddeus J3 days ago

    Love to see another video reviewing Mask, Radio, and Rainman.

  58. Mermaliade

    Mermaliade3 days ago

    As a below-the-knee amputee I found this to be really well put together and relatable. Thank you for putting this together!

  59. kai lee

    kai lee3 days ago

    Hannah looks so much like Emilia Clarke.

  60. greendayfecer

    greendayfecer3 days ago

    I have a lot of issues with glee. I will always love Becky to pieces especially in the earlier seasons, but then in later seasons like the school shooting? It made me mad because it felt like such a disservice. Firstly it seemed like because she has Down syndrome no one noticed her struggling with change, especially with graduation, etc. and secondly sue giving Becky a job instead of help made it seem like she was given special treatment. I just..glee got a lot of stuff wrong. I don’t know what their aim was with that episode, especially with zero trigger warnings including that episode.

  61. dienazday81

    dienazday813 days ago

    You forgot bran from game of thrones!!!

  62. Annie Tsering

    Annie Tsering3 days ago

    Somehow the girl in the black t-shirt reminds me of Rory Gilmore :O

  63. Annie Tsering

    Annie Tsering3 days ago

    Peter Dinklage is the coolest. I am abled but I myself was tired of always seeing little people in ridiculous roles and hey, he slapped Joffrey 😂😂😂

  64. Annie Tsering

    Annie Tsering3 days ago

    Arthie's character is problematic in the way that he is portrayed as only having the opportunity to be happy as an abled person.

  65. dontay15 -

    dontay15 -4 days ago

    Verne Troyer would be a great example but too soon rip Verne

  66. Meme Iselfaneye

    Meme Iselfaneye4 days ago

    Arnie was great in What's Eating Giblert Grape? Very honest depiction, he didn't do it in a mocking or condescending fashion. And it's entirely possible to be given a short window for living...My mom was told I wouldn't see 2, and even suggested she say her goodbyes...I'll be 33 in July.

  67. Alex McLean

    Alex McLean4 days ago

    www.theguardian.com/film/2018/feb/01/three-billboards-portrayal-of-dwarfism-is-reductive-and-ableist-and-i-would-know?CMP=twt_gu

  68. marisdc

    marisdc4 days ago

    I'm disabled and I loved Wonder, I don't think that the community is so clearly against it like this video suggests. I fully agree with them though that Walter Jr. on Breaking Bad was an amazing character and one of the best representations of disability on film/TV!

  69. Grace Tarpey

    Grace Tarpey4 days ago

    wonder is such a brilliant book, haven't seen the film tho

  70. Mimi Frogbutt

    Mimi Frogbutt4 days ago

    I like how they're all like "Oh make the Glee character love himself" and that's literally what happens. That just makes all the point you bring up seem moot, since it's clear they didn't research this at all. Try to not make yourselves look ignorant when you do something like this, as it only hurts your cause. It turns you into whining babies who could even watch what you're complaining about