People Living With Disabilities Review Characters With Disabilities

Comments

  1. O. C.

    O. C.11 days ago

    Peter Dinklage is a complete and utter badass. Full stop.

  2. Jacinta Schneider

    Jacinta Schneider14 days ago

    please tell me toph is in here somewhere

  3. Veronica Victor

    Veronica Victor18 days ago

    "I'm here and I'm hard to kill."

  4. Jack Wasserman

    Jack Wasserman18 days ago

    I remember in the book, that auggie had become profoundly deaf, and needed powerful hearing aids, so I cant even imagine that struggle

  5. Shea Pierson

    Shea Pierson19 days ago

    I wish they'd had someone with an intellectual/developmental disability give their take on it too.

  6. AJ McRobert

    AJ McRobert19 days ago

    Don't you think it's pretty hypocritical that they were reviewing disabilities they dont even have? They are doing this while basically telling us that we don't understand. What the hell do they know about having Down syndrome or being a little person?

  7. Bridget Anderson

    Bridget Anderson20 days ago

    Speaking of Peter Dinklage, trailer for I Think We're Alone Now seems really promising! mreporter.net/v/video-gPrnb_BYsdA.html

  8. Kenzie J

    Kenzie J21 day ago

    The comments they made about "Inspiration Porn" meant a lot to me. As a victim of abuse as well as someone who has dealt with invisible disabilities for most of my life, I know what it is like to be used as a source of feel-good fodder for the average person. There is something weirdly dehumanizing about people using other's hardships as a way to pat themselves on the back, and it hijacks the complexity and meaning of our stories. Good disability representation should be an inspiration to disabled people, not inspiration porn or comedic relief for the non-disabled.

  9. BadWolf

    BadWolf21 day ago

    Man i wish I could dislike a video more than once... 🙄🙄🙄🙄 This is making me so angry

  10. BadWolf

    BadWolf11 days ago

    I’m sorry this kind of escalated and I don’t mean any disrespect to people on the spectrum who are diagnosed with Aspergers or other forms of autism! I just wanted to politely explain why the comments in this video irritate me so much.

  11. BadWolf

    BadWolf11 days ago

    Amanda: i hated the blonde woman commenting on the girl from glee who has Downs. Just because you’re disabled doesn’t mean you understand every other disabled persons struggles. She complains about “inspiration porn” in Wonder, but that is exactly what that girl in glee is. Everyone loves to love cute and sassy people with downs. I know a lot of people with Down’s syndrome because my sister is autistic and goes to school with a lot of them, and that girl does not represent them. She is the pandering version of them. I do not want to disrespect the actress in any way, I am happy to see that she is doing so well. But that is just it: she is extraordinarily “high functioning”. Arnie from “what’s eating Gilbert grape” on the other hand is sooo accurate! He is almost exactly like my sister. The whole “Arnie might not live til ten” thing is what doctors tell my family and I about my sister. I do not know what kind of disability the blonde woman has but I assume it’s not a mental disability so I do not see how she can comment on their portrayal in the media.

  12. Libby Mackenzie

    Libby Mackenzie22 days ago

    Becky is THE WORST. She was so exploited!

  13. Eddie Brock

    Eddie Brock22 days ago

    Tyrion is one of my favorite characters on GOT followed by Daenyrs and Jon Snow. I also like Tywin. I love to hate Cersei.

  14. elarcand

    elarcand22 days ago

    I feel bad but all I could think at 1:46 is deadpool going "Well.....that's just lazing writting"

  15. sierra mist

    sierra mist22 days ago

    artie DID have an arc about self love and acceptance. why didn’t they show that?

  16. Marie Landrigan

    Marie Landrigan23 days ago

    BTW I don't think the misunderstanding of Leo's character in what's eating Gilbert grape shows a lack of empathy or understanding on behalf of the main characters but on behalf of the country town the characters live in. Artie seems sorta autistic with some type of mental diminishment. He looks and sounds like people I have seen in real life. No one mentioned the disabled, obese mother, who is negligent of her kids but she also has a problem and is MORE the subject of "how crappy for the rest of the family." I see it more that the family NEVER felt truly ashamed of each other and they had solidarity no matter what despite their disabilities, but it also shows the psychological affects on the caretakers.. Gilbert, and his sister, who themselves are left by their father and are themselves thrust into the "mom and dad" roles for their cognitively/behaviorally challenged brother and physically handicapped mother.

  17. Marie Landrigan

    Marie Landrigan23 days ago

    Times when he flips out/climbs the water tower are usually when Gilbert is late, doesn't show up, et c. or he is in deep turmoil. Nice symbolism there.

  18. Marie Landrigan

    Marie Landrigan23 days ago

    Eye-opening video. I also love Peter Dinklage and his portrayal of Tyrion! You guys forgot a great movie: "My Left Foot."

  19. Marie Landrigan

    Marie Landrigan23 days ago

    Daniel Day Lewis plays Christy Brown with cerebral palsy in working class Ireland in the 1930s. Being uneducated about his disability, the family assumes he is not mentally capable, but as the movie shows, they eventually are taught by Christy that this is not the case.

  20. thebacon

    thebacon24 days ago

    sometimes it's really not disrespectful. the actor's job is to literally act like someone theyre not.

  21. Eunoia

    Eunoia24 days ago

    They ignored quite a lot of scenes that did what they wanted to do.

  22. HERESTONY

    HERESTONY25 days ago

    Poor bastards made to sit and watch other more fortunate vegetables on TV

  23. Nikki Sweet

    Nikki Sweet25 days ago

    I think that these people don't understand how Glee works. The point of Glee is that there are a bunch of kids who get bullied and who have these insecurities and they learn to love them. This also includes Artie. There is no "sensitive way" to bully someone

  24. Margaret Phelps

    Margaret Phelps26 days ago

    I think they were a little hard on the Arnie character. He wasn't representing a physically disabled person, he was mentally disabled. Completely different

  25. ActiveAnimals

    ActiveAnimalsMonth ago

    Physically disabled people get so offended when confronted with the idea that mental disabilities exist too.

  26. Judy Nguyen

    Judy NguyenMonth ago

    I felt that way too about Artie. I’ve spent too long wishing I didn’t have my disorders...instead of working on how to just live with it.

  27. QUARTERMASTER_EMI6

    QUARTERMASTER_EMI6Month ago

    8:42 - _"We want to be inspired. Inspired by our own gifts, and our own talents, and our own stories and struggles..."_

  28. Bagel

    BagelMonth ago

    Wonder was, in all honesty, a terrible movie. The book was so much better. In the book the movies based off of, it says to imagine auggie as different as you’d like, and to give a mental image as the story takes place. This movie ruined the entire idea of that and designed the movie characters all wrong. But besides that, this video was great.

  29. Matdy James

    Matdy JamesMonth ago

    Awesome vids, please make this a regular thing, Buzzfeed! Do Deaf people review deaf characters on films and shows (like Switched at Birth).because so many complaints about how Deaf characters are treated in tv.

  30. yana romanova

    yana romanovaMonth ago

    that dude is really hot

  31. Samantha Casey

    Samantha CaseyMonth ago

    What was Pamela’s disability? She’s really annoying.

  32. sora

    soraMonth ago

    Disability porn thanks

  33. Jelena Jeanine

    Jelena JeanineMonth ago

    Don't agree with their assessment of Arnie Grape. Leonardo DiCaprio did an amazing job with the character. And also, they never specify what disability Arnie has, so how do they know what his expected life span should be? None of these people are qualified to speak on mental disabilities. I don't think they even watched the movie and understood the plot. SMH. Next time Buzzfeed, include medical professionals and people with mental disabilities to speak on the subject.

  34. Trinity Prothro

    Trinity ProthroMonth ago

    If I was disabled I wouldn't want to get a part just because I was disabled. I'd hope to get the part because I was good enough. My friend who is physically disabled agrees. She's doesn't make her disability the only thing that makes her her and doesn't get offended by actors playing disabled characters.

  35. bluemermaiid

    bluemermaiidMonth ago

    Basically: give people with disabilities space in the media/arts industry and let them tell their own stories instead of having people who don't even do their research write it.

  36. aeroangel3321

    aeroangel3321Month ago

    Calling Becky from Glee a band-aid is kind of offensive too isn't it?

  37. Jade Ferra

    Jade FerraMonth ago

    I've thought it would be really good for movies if casting would be blind. Like... have the bones, have the necessary bits of the story and then cast blind from there. If the story takes place in modern-day America and is about coworkers that hate each other but end up falling in love - it doesn't matter the ethnicity, gender, or disabilities. Disabled fat black man falls in love with a standard Hollywood white guy and the story doesn't have to be about being gay, having disability, or comedy because someone is overweight in it - it can still be exactly the same as any silly feel good hot white guy hot white girl fall in love romance. I would love to see shows portrayed like that. And if it does matter cast accordingly as well (don't cast white people in place of every other ethnicity Hollywood COUGH COUGH). There will be a lot of stories about hot white people, but how much more interesting would it be to have an appropriate diversity of people cast as long as the story is being respected. Movies would be so much better

  38. Marjorie Wheatley

    Marjorie WheatleyMonth ago

    If Peter Linkage was of normal height,it would be so unfair to all adult men surpassing George Clooney & Pitt by far!

  39. hoseok's cute elf ears

    hoseok's cute elf earsMonth ago

    oh my god i love this video

  40. SmokeyFiizz

    SmokeyFiizzMonth ago

    When he said "Forrest Gump" and "The Hunchback of Notre Dame" my heart actually broke. I always knew representation mattered. But boy did that actually hit me right in the chest.

  41. Ashling and Hurricanes

    Ashling and HurricanesMonth ago

    "I'm here, and I'm hard to kill." GIrl marry me!

  42. Tine turnt

    Tine turntMonth ago

    OMGG...wow they just made wonder sound aweful…..he didn't get an award just because he was disabled...

  43. YourWaifuIsShitx

    YourWaifuIsShitxMonth ago

    You could’ve let them watch the cast of American Horror Story: Freak Show - Behind the scenes where the actors actually DO have the disabilities that they portray

  44. Dennis Hendrix

    Dennis HendrixMonth ago

    melt comfortable wind return ridiculous stir Democrat perception victim.

  45. Meg

    MegMonth ago

    What about Toph?

  46. meb1879

    meb1879Month ago

    If you're looking for disability being well represented, both by the presenters and the subject matter, check out British chat show "The Last Leg"!

  47. daniel burton

    daniel burtonMonth ago

    THEY ARE SHOWS, ITS NOT REAL! CALM DOWN

  48. Sexy Sabin

    Sexy SabinMonth ago

    Buzzfeed must relate because you know, they’re disabled too

  49. TheNavyBlue Wolf

    TheNavyBlue WolfMonth ago

    Yeah I agree with what they were saying about Wonder. I have a sister with SMA and we are so close that it's almost like we are the same person. I know what she's thinking and feeling in a certain situation, so I know that she is uncomfortable when she's being given attention because of her disability. So when we watched that movie, I kinda got uncomfortable when he got that award because I kinda felt like they were giving it to him because they felt bad for him. People give my sister gifts all the time and I can feel how uncomfortable she is because she knows why they are giving it to her. She wants to be seen as a person, not a person with a disability. She wants people to remember her because of her personality, not the huge wheelchair she's sitting in. I feel all kinds of secondhand embarassment when people do things for her because they feel bad for her.

  50. Lucie Kulhankova

    Lucie KulhankovaMonth ago

    I dont get why people have a problem with an able-bodied actor playing a disabled one. I mean, its called acting. There, its hard enough to find an actor who can nail the part and if you will be looking only at disabled actor your choice will be very limited. Also with Artie, he was there for five seasons and he literally had this one episode when he had a short-lived issue about his diasbality, the whole story made sense for the character, that was normally super happy and ok. People should stop being so negative about all this :).

  51. OohlalaHolly

    OohlalaHollyMonth ago

    not everyone, black ppl and asian people hardly see themselves in movies!

  52. OohlalaHolly

    OohlalaHollyMonth ago

    where are the people of color?

  53. cj222100

    cj222100Month ago

    I have a crush on Peter Dinklage too 😊 Also I would have been interested in hearing their opinion on AHS season 4. The characters were very interesting & had lots of different storylines, but at the same time, it was set in a 1950s circus freakshow. So that would've been a really interesting one for them to discuss imo.

  54. AllonsyRapunzel

    AllonsyRapunzelMonth ago

    Tracy Beaker returns / the dumping ground Frank was awesome. The only time I remember his cerebral palsy being a big topic was when his best friend was complaining about how hard his life was and Frank was like "I have to talk REALLY slowly and people still struggle to understand me. You think you're the only one with problems?" But that's a CBBC program in the UK so of course they haven't seen it. Lola was good too in the original Tracy Beaker. Also there's Sasha in the Dumping Ground who has dwarfism and refers to others as "shortie" which I love (she's played by Annabelle Davis, Warwick Davis's daughter). However I don't have any major disabilities so I wouldn't know. However I know that watching the Tracy Beaker programs growing up made me see that people with disabilies are just people like you and me. Nobody is "normal", there is statistically not a normal person so having a disability shouldn't be a problem.

  55. Aatikah

    AatikahMonth ago

    Their feelings are valid about the Artie episode, because it is their own feelings. So many comments, "well you should see it.." Guys, relax. Their feelings are valid. Maybe some day they'll look back on it and think different, or maybe they did finish the episode and not dislike it as a whole, and that's fine. Let people feel things, damn.

  56. weahhh63

    weahhh63Month ago

    Completely off topic, but my uncle was in a wheelchair, and I always thought it was neat that he would let me play in it, and his car and truck was so cool since it had been modified so he could drive it.

  57. Laura Hoke

    Laura HokeMonth ago

    Leonardo DiCaprio was nominated for a Golden Globe and an Oscar. He did a fantastic job and deserves to be recognized for his talent not how it hurt your feelings and is offensive boohoohoo crap.

  58. The Doc Jay

    The Doc JayMonth ago

    if you are disabled you do wish you weren't. I wish I didn't have to use a cane anymore.

  59. Stephanie Palladino

    Stephanie PalladinoMonth ago

    I disagree that only people with disabilities should be portraying people with disabilities. Actors aren't actually anyone that they play - they are playing a role, pretending. No one would be pissed off that a firefighter wasn't played by a real firefighter. Pretending is the whole point of acting, and the only stipulation is whether or not they acted well. Also, films and television are a form of art. Art isn't supposed to be politically correct, or 'validating', or 'inclusive'... it's not supposed to be anything except an expression of the artists creative vision. The idea that art should be policed, is ridiculous.

  60. Alli 3

    Alli 3Month ago

    Leonardo DiCaprio was not even a well known actor when that film was made . I personally don't see anything wrong with that movie . It's based off a book.

  61. julia howe

    julia howeMonth ago

    as somebody who looks fucked up in a swimsuit (my leg is literally a birthmark from my ankle to my high thigh, as well as many others in varying sizes all over) I laughed out loud in ready player one like OMG so bad

  62. Monica Michelle

    Monica MichelleMonth ago

    Getting out of bed does not make me inspirational

  63. ferociousgumby

    ferociousgumbyMonth ago

    This is great and enlightening and reveals popular stereotypes. Can you do mental health next? Oh boy oh boy oh boy. There is a tremendous need. It's all this "a memoir of madness" stuff. And people look at movies with mentally ill people in them and call it a "heartwarming struggle towards the light". At the same time, "whack job" is one of the favorite expressions in our culture."Oh come on. He's just a whack job" (total dismissal).

  64. Kath Moon

    Kath MoonMonth ago

    ''I'm here and I'm hard to kill'' That's my sentence of the year!

  65. Vere Witch.

    Vere Witch.2 months ago

    "I'm here and I'm hard to kill" < life motto!

  66. Jo WL Leung

    Jo WL Leung2 months ago

    In casting actor with disability for Artie's role. A lot of comments go into how a disabled actor can't do what an able-bodied actor can. What about the other way around. All the things an abled body can't do while a wheelchair user can! Of course the team can choose who they want and how they want it, it's their show. Just thinking it may give a different level of artistic possibilities. After all, the show is about celebrating variety of talents right!?

  67. stiras1

    stiras12 months ago

    I don't get why they didn't like What's Eating Gilbert Grape. Leo did an amazing job. I know kids like that, so he didn't do a poor job. It was realistic. It is also a movie about a family's struggle, and I don't see anything wrong with that. Lots of families struggle for different reasons. Why should we hide that some families with kids who are disabled struggle? It is the truth. Much better to get it out in the open then pretend it doesn't happen.

  68. Abygaelle

    Abygaelle2 months ago

    #allrepresentationmatters!!!

  69. Starry Night

    Starry Night2 months ago

    The way Glee handled Artie, bisexuality and Asian characters sucked sooo bad. I'm glad that show is over

  70. Elin

    Elin2 months ago

    Why isn’t Dare Devil in this? Or any blind/deaf reviewers???

  71. Rocket Leaves

    Rocket Leaves2 months ago

    I like wonder but my main gripe with it that the character wasn’t deaf like they said in the movie overall the person who played him did really well

  72. TeaandFiona

    TeaandFiona2 months ago

    I always thought Dinklage was hot even in Elf

  73. Morgan MacRae

    Morgan MacRae2 months ago

    peter, goddamn why does he do it to us

  74. MnMPryoBanana

    MnMPryoBanana2 months ago

    Good stuff.

  75. Pretty Little Liar

    Pretty Little Liar2 months ago

    What an inspiration. "We want to be inspired too".. What a slap in the face. Wake up humanity!

  76. Jolie Mwah

    Jolie Mwah2 months ago

    I loveeeeee this! Its refreshing to hear such insight, thank God for the internet because this can definitely be addressed all over the world! We want to see more of this!

  77. Karissa Santana

    Karissa Santana2 months ago

    Could y'all make a similar video of: Deaf people Review Characters that are "Deaf" In TV and Movies?

  78. Ed Lothia

    Ed Lothia2 months ago

    They didn't bring up Jamie Brewers AHS roles which I think are so great! especially from "coven"

  79. LUCIA CURRAN LANE

    LUCIA CURRAN LANE2 months ago

    I didn’t see that part in glee

  80. Jennifer .S

    Jennifer .S2 months ago

    What about Reggie in Call The Midwife? Those episodes get me in tears every time. He's such a great character!

  81. Nicola Locke

    Nicola Locke2 months ago

    The crush is real!

  82. Hannah G

    Hannah G2 months ago

    As a person with many disabilities, I feel like the majority of what they say in this video is petty and purposefully negative. Nothing annoys me more than people nit picking the hell out of things. By the time it got to the discussion of Arnie in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, I was just plain annoyed.

  83. Esme.Equine

    Esme.Equine2 months ago

    Look. Just because you are disabled, doesn’t mean you can be the police on “properly portrayed disabled people.” It’s sad, that you have to go through what you go through, but please, don’t get mad at directors and actors for trying. It’s like saying just because I’m white I can criticize the movies with white females and say “well this isn’t how I live, I’m offended by the character.” That isn’t right.

  84. CrappyOneshots

    CrappyOneshots2 months ago

    No bran?

  85. Phoebe Congloebe

    Phoebe Congloebe2 months ago

    Where's Sean Murphy from The Good Doctor?

  86. SlothSlow

    SlothSlow2 months ago

    Wish they added Ivar the Boneless from Vikings probably one of the more badass characters on the show (After Ragnar and Bjorn)

  87. Gianna Faith

    Gianna Faith2 months ago

    Wow that guy is a savage 😂

  88. Andrianna Lu

    Andrianna Lu2 months ago

    what about Dustin from Stranger Things?

  89. Michal Danek

    Michal Danek2 months ago

    "I'm here, and I'm hard to kill." That is hands down one of the most badass things anyone has ever said.

  90. jennifer yvette reyna

    jennifer yvette reyna2 months ago

    I can see why people would find Leonardo DiCaprio's acting offensive but I don't agree that the movie is supposed to make the audience feel sorry for the family because of Arnie's disability. The story is about Gilbert and his struggle to take care of his family while trying to live his own life. The relationship between Arnie and Gilbert is a big part of the story but it isn't all there is to the movie. Also, you can't forget that the Arnie wasn't the only character in the movie with a disability. The mother is morbidly obese and is a shut in.

  91. Darmath

    Darmath2 months ago

    QQ

  92. Cait P.

    Cait P.2 months ago

    It's also worthwhile noting that using "name actors" can be a really good in for people who otherwise aren't exposed to media featuring disabled people, and the choice of actor very rarely impacts a character's narrative (the writer and director do) .

  93. Cait P.

    Cait P.2 months ago

    Would have been great for you guys to touch on what successful movies featuring disabilities exist from the 90s onward so your audience have some inspiration about what they can look up and watch.

  94. Dino Saurus

    Dino Saurus2 months ago

    If you don't have people on the panel with cognitive diabilities, don't review those characters. In Particular, don't review characters with cognitive disabilities that severely affect them. How do you know that your panel doesn't also have misconceptions about cognitive and intellectual disabilities?

  95. TheIrishninjas

    TheIrishninjas2 months ago

    Disability is such a broad spectrum that even if they were to add people with cognitive disabilities to the panel, people would still complain. I think the point of this is to say that as a whole, the disabled community is represented poorly in society.

  96. Alex Martinez

    Alex Martinez2 months ago

    I can't believe no one thought to bring up Simon Birch, who tf??

  97. Super

    Super2 months ago

    That guy has really gross hands

  98. Jessica Bushell-Hale

    Jessica Bushell-Hale2 months ago

    I am curious what people with disabilities think of the woman from Kingsman. She was an amputee with leg blades and about as over the top as any other character in the movie.

  99. AD Queen

    AD Queen2 months ago

    Super cool! It is super interesting of hearing their poin of view since I have a compleatly different one

  100. Lauren M

    Lauren M2 months ago

    I love the disability content please keep it coming, most aren’t talking about disability.

  101. Kayla Packer

    Kayla Packer2 months ago

    If anyone wants a story of a disabled person doing amazing things, there's a movie called an Uphill Climb. It won a mid America Emmy award. It's about a man with cerebral palsy. It goes through the steps of his day to day life while also documenting the insane things he's accomplished including climbing to base camp of Mt. Everest.

  102. Kayla Packer

    Kayla Packer2 months ago

    The man's name is Kyle Packer and he's my dad.

  103. torinju

    torinju2 months ago

    Am I am the only one that is relieved they liked Tyrion? He is one of my favorite all time characters and I would have been really disappointed if I found out I was missing something horrible about his portrayal.

  104. Joseph Cabral

    Joseph Cabral3 months ago

    I can’t believe they didn’t do my left foot!

  105. 미친년

    미친년3 months ago

    I mean yeah but leo did a fantastic job at that role. I dont think any abled human could portray a condition like that so consistently and naturally. offensive or not, that took serious talent on his part.

  106. Heavy Object

    Heavy Object3 months ago

    With biomechanics everything is possible